Car insurance is what protects us from a hefty financial burden after getting into a traffic accident or having our car damaged due to some other cause like weather, theft, or vandalism. Every state has their own minimum coverage requirements when it comes to car insurance.

To abide by Wyoming state laws, you must have certain types of insurance coverage on your car insurance policy. Whether you are new to the Equality State or you are shopping around for a new insurance company, you should have an idea of what the minimum coverage limits are.

Keep reading for more information on coverage limits in Wyoming.

What Are The Minimum Car Insurance Requirements In Wyoming?

The state of Wyoming requires all drivers to carry liability insurance on their policy to help you cover the costs of damages and injuries resulting from an accident that you caused.

To drive in Wyoming, you must have the following minimum liability coverage limits:

  • Bodily injury liability: $25,000 per person, per accident.
  • Total bodily injury liability: $50,000 if multiple people are injured in an accident.
  • Property damage liability: $20,000.

Wyoming car insurance companies are required to include uninsured motorist coverage in all liability car insurance policies. Even though the law requires all drivers to be insured, the unfortunate reality is that many are not. Uninsured motorist coverage exists to protect you when you are hit by a driver who is not insured or when you are the victim of a hit and run.

The minimum coverage requirements for uninsured motorist coverage are the same as those in your liability coverage. While you can get both property damage coverage and bodily injury coverage with this type of insurance, uninsured property damage coverage is not a requirement in Wyoming.

What Are My Other Options For Car Insurance Coverage In Wyoming?

Even though you only need to have liability insurance in Idaho, many drivers might feel like it isn’t enough protection. There are so many other types of insurance coverage options to choose from. If you feel like you need more coverage to make you feel protected while driving, here are some of the most common insurance options in Idaho:

  • Comprehensive: This type of car insurance helps you pay for damages done to your vehicle caused by something other than a car accident such as theft, bad weather, fire or vandalism.
  • Collision: This type of insurance will help you pay for the damages done to your car following an accident.
  • Medical payments: If you or your passengers were injured in a car accident, this type of insurance will help you pay for medical bills and/or funeral expenses.
  • Custom equipment: Since most traditional car insurance policies do not cover damages done to custom parts, you may need to purchase a special kind of insurance to make sure your custom parts are protected.
  • Rental reimbursement: If your car ever gets damaged and needs to spend an extended amount of time in the shop getting fixed, this type of insurance coverage will help you pay for a rental car to drive in the meantime.
  • Roadside assistance: This type of insurance comes in handy if you are ever broken down on the side of the road and need immediate assistance.

What Are The Penalties For Car Insurance Violations In Wyoming?

So long as you drive a car in the state of Wyoming, you are required to meet the minimum coverage limits for car insurance. If you are pulled over for a traffic stop, the law enforcement officer will ask you to show proof of insurance.

If you are unable to provide proof of insurance when you are asked to, you will have seven days to show that you have it. If you are unable to show proof of insurance during this time period, could face:

  • Up to a $1500 fine.
  • Up to 6 months of jail time.

How Can I Get Insurance If I Have A Poor Driving Record?

The insurance industry relies heavily on their ability to assess risk in potential clients. If you have a bad driving record, car insurance companies will view you as high risk. This can make it difficult for you to find a company who is willing to cover you.

Since car insurance is a requirement in Wyoming, the state has implemented the Wyoming Automobile Insurance Plan to ensure that high-risk drivers have access to car insurance. You can apply for the program through any licensed insurance agent or insurance company in the state.

Note that purchasing insurance through this program will likely be more expensive than purchasing it through the open market, so only go this route if it is your only option.

Leave a Reply